Who I Am And Why I Started Blogging

inspire

So I realized I haven’t officially introduced myself other than in my About Me page. If you already checked it out, I might repeat some things.

First off, let me start by telling you my name and some background info. My name is Ricky Olguin and I was born in the amazing state of Arizona. I am 22 yrs old, soon to be 23 currently living in South Korea. I am an Army Medic in the U.S. army and I love it.

Now, to why I started blogging

I started blogging as a way to express myself. I was always a shy kid and didn’t have anyone to talk too. I thought no one would ever read my blog, that no one would take the time to read what I wrote. Once people started commenting and reblogging, I felt special. Someone was actually interested in what I had to say and they enjoyed it. It was an amazing feeling. After a while, I was getting many followers and communicating with them when I finally realized something. My whole life, I was suffering from loneliness and I didn’t know it. I was so used too that, I thought it was okay to feel like that, but no more, I finally belonged to something. I belonged to my community, my fellow writers,  my people. I kept on blogging until I had over 80,000 followers. It was quite an experience starting from 0 and going to 80,000 in a couple of years on Tumblr. I may not have that many anymore since I stopped blogging for a while, but all of you made me into a better person, all of you made an impact on my life and hopefully I made an impact on yours. I want to start all over and make a difference in the world by bringing a smile to your face. Sometimes that is all a person needs, a smile or a kind word, to make it through another day.

So stay with me through my adventures in the blogging world and lets make a difference together. Lets smile all the way to Infinity and beyond!

Leave a Reply

