My Greatest Fear

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Fear Factor.”

My greatest fear is a terrible one to have. No one should ever experience something so terrifying. My fear, is that of loneliness. Loneliness is one of the most awful feelings in the world.

Growing up, I was always alone. I was a shy kid, afraid of the world. To me, the world was a hurtful one. There was bullying, fights in the schoolyard, scary things. Fear was all around. Who would want to deal with that? No one. The only way to stop from getting hurt was to push people away and stay away. No one ever tells you, that by doing that, you face something even scarier, and that is loneliness. The only way I was able to deal with it, was with books. Who needed people, when you can be a noble, courageous, captain of a spaceship, exploring worlds, or an adventurer who’s life was filled with excitement and opportunities. You could be whatever your heart desires. I survived this way for a long time.

As you can probably tell, I suffered from loneliness for a very long time. Now I am getting over it. I am finally letting people get closer to me. I still haven’t opened up a lot, but its a work in progress. I am going to get over it because I am learning that I shouldn’t be afraid of anything. We are all fearless inside we just need to find that courage that has been buried inside us all this time. I do sometimes fall back into being afraid of being lonely, but I will not let it affect me, for I am Fearless.. Fear shouldn’t control me, therefor I wont let it!

Leave a Reply

